Reviews

8.8
Review Score

Score breakdown

Cleanliness
8.1
Comfort
8.9
Property Location
8.6
Facilities
8.7
Staff
9.3
Value
8.9

Reviews

    Elizabeth
    us

    Review Score

    10
    September 17, 2018

    Great charming getaway from the mainstream, relaxing, friendly with European charm.

    this question does not apply to my stay .
    the pioneer inn is a welcoming, charming oasis in the middle of "nowhere" Nevada. The gardens, flowers and fruit trees are healthy, colorful and abundant. We picked plums and ate them right off the tree. The décor is filled with history and has a delightful European embrace. Mitzi, Dave and Larry welcomed our dogs into their little farm of chickens and goats. Breakfast was made with fresh chicken eggs and goat milk. Thank you Pioneer Inn for being exactly the way you are.
    Judith
    us

    Review Score

    10
    August 31, 2018

    Had such a nice time; definitely going back.

    What an eclectic place. The interiors contained some nice interesting decor plus a large diverse selection of books. The owners, the locals and the other guests were very friendly. Really enjoyed the food and conversations at breakfast.
    Bonnie
    us

    Review Score

    7.9
    August 27, 2018

    I'd stay longer next time.

    A few cobwebs could have been swept away.
    This little cottage was extremely picturesque - as was the location. If you want to hideaway and read a good book - it was a well stocked oasis with views, and books galore.
    Cara
    us

    Review Score

    10
    August 23, 2018

    Awesome

    Just a wonderful place to stay!
    Lyndon
    us

    Review Score

    10
    August 22, 2018

    We'll be back.

    Our hosts were terrific, knowledgeable and friendly.
    We were there doing historical research regarding the ghost town of Unionville. Our hosts were knowledgeable about the history and the residents.
    us

    Review Score

    8.3
    August 12, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Cara
    us

    Review Score

    10
    August 1, 2018

    It was perfect.

    Having to leave.
    The house was wonderful the breakfasts were amazing.
    Mark
    us

    Review Score

    8.3
    July 20, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Samantha Peterson
    us

    Review Score

    10
    July 10, 2018

    Will definitely be back!

    The only problem was that there was an ant problem in the kitchen, however, it is a very old cottage and I would be surprised if there wasn't! As long as you clean up after yourself, there isn't really a problem!
    I did not know that for our stay that we would have an entire cottage to ourselves! This was a perfect getaway from the stress of every day life with my sister and my dog! Lots of room for him to run and enjoy himself, with a little creek in the front yard! Mitzy and David were great, very loving family that extend a very warm welcome to all who stay on the ranch. Will definitely come back!
    Victor Amelkin
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    June 21, 2018

    Unique old-school B&B with beautiful house and garden

    Some of the facilities are a bit dated, and do not function perfectly (e.g. there was no hot water in our bathroom; fortunately, there were 3 other bathrooms in the house with hot water). Also, driving here from Sacramento side may be challenging, as the last 20 miles, the road will be unpaved, and there are plenty of rabbits and cows near the road (so driving after dark is not recommended). These, however, would positively contribute to your experience if you are an adventurous type.
    It is a unique place, having nothing in common with traditional hotels. It is an old-school B&B, with beautiful house and interiors, and even more beautiful garden and surroundings. Plenty of cool stuff for younger kids there, both in the house and outside. The owners are great folks, and the breakfast is delicious. Hope to be back to Nevada and visit this place again in the future.
    James
    us

    Review Score

    10
    June 3, 2018

    Cannot wait to return.

    That we don't live there!
    This is definitely a top of the list place to return to visit. Travellers at breakfast told us this was their 14th visit and we understood. So perfect. Wonderful family.
    Alyce
    us

    Review Score

    10
    May 27, 2018
    Loved everything!
    Absolutely everything was perfect. The cottage quaint and charming, comfortable and totally quiet at night except for the crickets. Breakfast was a country feast of oatmeal with cream, strawberries and brown sugar followed by waffles, eggs, bacon, and homemade coffeecake. All shared country style with great company!
    Ann
    us

    Review Score

    7.1
    May 14, 2018

    An interesting place to stay with a great breakfast!

    Difficult to find after dark. A few too many dust bunnies on the floor
    Really great breakfast! Owners nice and friendly.
    Angelique
    us

    Review Score

    10
    March 31, 2018

    Beautiful retreat!

    The staff is amazing, location is peaceful and inviting, the facilities are more than comfortable! This is a little gem!
    Julie
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    December 11, 2017

    A beautiful job of renovating authentic old western digs with taste and style.

    It’s a ways off the highway, for those just “passing through,” but if you have the time, it is SO worth it!
    Great people, hearty pioneer breakfast, fun and amazing collection of books, and the brightest stars I have ever seen!
    Danielle
    us

    Review Score

    10
    December 1, 2017

    Super fantastic remote getaway.

    Friendly staff, gorgeous location, definitely off the path but well worth it.
    us

    Review Score

    2.5
    November 20, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Kevin
    us

    Review Score

    7.5
    November 6, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Harald
    de

    Review Score

    9.6
    September 11, 2018
    Stop over here if you prefer to meet some warm, welcoming, traveled people over staying at a soulless motel. The hosts are incredibly friendly, and we very much enjoyed having Mitzi’s breakfast all together with the neighbors. We now understand a bit more what it’s like to live in the desert. The drive itself to the place is a bit of an adventure - and we felt a bit lost on the dirt road at night with no lights nowhere to be seen. Google Maps will get you there safely though. We were fascinated by the old houses and enjoyed watching a VHS movie (Mrs. Doubtfire!) on a tiny TV like in the good ol’ days. Highly recommended and would always go back.
    Stephanie
    ca

    Review Score

    8.8
    July 22, 2018

    A peaceful niche in the middle of the desert🤗

    The directions given by Booking.com were not as precise as needed. It should also be stated that no other “civilization” or services are in the vacinity, so any food other than breakfast needs to be brought with the guest.
    I loved the unique nature of this family-owned, family-run historic property. A peaceful location.
Loading reviews...